North Cornwall’s local councillors back Dan Rogerson

In a letter to voters ahead of the election on Thursday, fifteen Cornwall Councillors representing communities across North Cornwall, from St Merryn to Morwenstow, have given their backing to Dan Rogerson to be re-elected as local MP:


Who is the best choice to be North Cornwall’s MP? That’s what people across our area will be asked to decide on 7th May.

You may have noticed that, a few weeks before the election, the Conservatives have suddenly started to take an interest in local residents. But don’t be fooled by their glossy leaflets and adverts – when it comes to working hard all year round, year in year out, it is Dan Rogerson and the local Liberal Democrats who get things done for local people; not just turning up at election time like the others.

The Conservatives just don’t seem to get it. When they ran Cornwall Council they wasted thousands of pounds on expensive consultants at the same time as cutting services and trying to axe facilities like Camelford Leisure Centre. They have been silent when the Conservative Police and Crime Commissioner decided to close facilities at local police stations, and nationally they want to introduce ‘regional pay’ which would see teachers, nurses and other public sector workers in Cornwall get a pay cut.

In contrast, Dan Rogerson has always worked with us as Cornwall Councillors and with local people to get a fair deal for our area. From fighting to improve local broadband and mobile phone signal to lobbying government ministers to get the cash for the A30 upgrade, leading the campaign to improve local bus and rail services or securing a cut in our water bills, Dan Rogerson has been fighting our corner and getting results.

Whilst we in North Cornwall can’t choose who the Prime Minister is, we can choose who we want to be our local MP for the next five years.

When you cast your vote on 7th May make sure that your vote counts so that we can continue to have Dan Rogerson as a first rate local MP who will work hard and get things done for North Cornwall.

Cllr Chris Batters, Lanivet and Blisland division

Cllr Glenton Brown, Tintagel division

Cllr Richard Buscombe, Padstow and St Merryn division

Cllr Nicky Chopak, Poundstock division

Cllr Paula Dolphin, Grenville and Stratton division

Cllr Jade Farrington, Launceston South division

Cllr Ann Kerridge, Bodmin St Mary division

Cllr Steve Knightley, Wadebridge East & St Kew division

Cllr David Parsons, Bude division

Cllr Adam Paynter, Launceston North & North Petherwin division

Cllr Nigel Pearce, Bude division

Cllr Pat Rogerson, Bodmin St Leonard division

Cllr Steve Rogerson, Bodmin St Petroc division

Cllr Rob Rotchell, Camelford division

Cllr Jeremy Rowe, St Issey and St Tudy division


Share this post on social media:

Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or Email.